T20 World Cup has begun on 17th October 2021 at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground, the event will commence on 14th November in Dubai when the tournament’s two best teams meet in a decider. Lastly, T20 World Cup was played in 2016. To know more about the previous T20 World Cup Winners from 2007 to 2021, go through the list of T20 World Cup winners tabulated in the below section.

T20 World Cup Winners List 2007 to 2021

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was played in South Africa in 2007 and the latest Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2021 is ongoing in UAE and Oman from 17th October to 14th November 2021. In this article, we are providing the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2021. The T20 Cricket World Cup winners list is given below:

YearVenueWinnerRunnerMatch Result
2007South AfricaIndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runs
2009EnglandPakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 8 wickets
2010West IndiesEnglandAustraliaEngland won by 7 wickets
2012Sri LankaWest IndiesSri LankaWest Indies won by 36 runs
2014BangladeshSri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 4 wickets
2021UAE and Oman

List of T20 World Cup Winners

The winner of the first T20 cricket world cup was India. The ICC T20 World Cup takes place once every two years. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and some planning changes made by the International Cricket Council (ICC), there has not been a single T20 Cricket World Cup in the last five years. Now, ICC will conduct two T20 World Cups in the upcoming two years (2021 and 2022). 

List of T20 World Cup Winners- Country-wise

 West Indies is the only country that won the ICC T20 World Cut twice (2017 & 2016) and India, Pakistan, England, & Sri Lanka won it once. Let’s have a look at the country-wise T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2021.

Country Name No. of times Winner
West Indies2
Pakistan 1

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here, we are discussing about the T20 world cup winners list in detail from 2007 to 2021.

T20 World Cup Winner 2021

The T20 World Cup 2021 has started on 17th October 2021 UAE and Oman. The final match of this World Cup will be held on 14th November 2021. So the winner of World Cup 2021 will be decided on the same date. 

T20 World Cup Winner 2016- West Indies

West Indies won the T20 World Cup 2016 by beating England in the final. With this, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. West Indies lost only one match against Afghanistan. Earlier, West Indies became champions for the first time in the 2012 T20 World Cup. In this World Cup, Virat Kohli was the Player of the Series and Tamim Iqbal was the highest run-scorer.

T20 World Cup Winner 2014- Sri Lanka

In T20 World Cup 2014, Sri Lanka defeated India to become the new T20 World Cup Winner. Sri Lanka won the final match by 6 wickets. In this World Cup, Virat Kohli from India became both top run-scorer and player of the series.

T20 World Cup Winner 2012- West Indies

West Indies won their first t20 World Cup in 2012 by beating hosts Sri Lanka in the summit clash by 36 runs.  West Indies also lost their first match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Australia and still won the trophy. In this World Cup, Shane Watson from Australia became both Player of the Series and top run-scorer and Ajantha Mendis from Sri Lanka was the highest wicket taker bowler.

T20 World Cup Winner 2010- England

England was the winner of T20 World Cup 2010. With this, England became the first non-Asian team to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. England beat Ashes rivals Australia in the final by 7 wickets. The English team had lost to the West Indies in their first game, but they won all the following games and captured the trophy. Kevin Pietersen from the winning team became the player of the series in T20 World Cup 2010.

T20 World Cup Winner 2009- Pakistan

After finishing as runners-up in the first T20 World Cup, Pakistan won their first 120 World Cup two years later in 2009. England hosted this tournament, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final to become champions. Pakistan lost their first match against England and a Super 8 match against Sri Lanka. Still, they managed to win the trophy. Tillakaratne Dilshan from Sri Lanka was the Player of the Series and top run-scorer in this tournament.

T20 World Cup Winner 2007- India

The Indian cricket team was the first to win the T20 World Cup. Playing under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India defeated Pakistan in the final to win the first T20 World Cup in 2007. India only lost one game in the tournament – against New Zealand in Super 8s. In this tournament, Shahid Afridi from Pakistan was the player of the series. 

Check: Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)

Check: IPL Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List- FAQs

How many times India won T20 World Cup?

India won ICC Men’s t20 Cricket World Cup once in 2007.

Who has won the most T20 Cricket World Cup?

West Indies won ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup two times which highest by any team.

Who was the first winner of T20 Cricket World Cup?

India was the first country to win the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup title against their arch rivals Pakistan.

Who is the winner of T20 World Cup 2021?

The winner of T20 World Cup 2021 will be decided on 14th November after the final match of the tournament.